20 totes-Jonathan Adler Umbrella: Or, I Found True Love in Barnes & Noble

I found the best umbrella I’ve ever owned in the clearance section at a Barnes and Noble. While I’ve never heard of Barnes & Noble selling umbrellas, of all things, I can’t resist anything marked down at 50% off. The umbrella itself is a product of totes, who specialize in rain gear. The design is from Jonathan Adler, whose designs are used in Barnes & Noble merchandise, such as journals and pens (and apparently umbrellas now too).

 

As someone who gets caught in the rain a lot, I need a sturdy yet resilient umbrella. So far this one’s lasted longer than any other umbrella I owned in the past, going on two years now. And it hasn’t disappointed me yet.

The first thing that caught my eye about this umbrella was the bright coloring. When unfurled, the umbrella reads “It’s raining cats and dogs” in gray, purple, black, and orange. The cats and dogs on it are a cute touch, especially as someone who loves cats and dogs!

Umbrella Size

One of the best things about this umbrella is its size. When opened, the totes umbrella has a diameter of 43 inches. It is easily one of the largest umbrellas I’ve ever had. And the most effective! I’m still amazed sometimes when I arrive to work or class that my things are still dry, even if my shoes are wet. I’ve never been able to say that about my other umbrellas, especially not the mini umbrella I got from WallMart.

While the umbrella is on the larger side, it’s surprisingly light, making it easy to carry in bags, or on your wrist with the connected strap, when not in use. When you need to put your umbrella away, the Velcro tab attached–shown above–secures the umbrella and makes it easy to stick in any bag. When folded up, the umbrella’s slightly larger than an eight ounce bottle of lotion.

IMG_3181

No matter how much I put in my bags there always seems to be enough room to tuck this umbrella in without any hassle.

Umbrella Frame

IMG_2869

While I’m not an expert on umbrella framing, the totes website claims some of their umbrellas can withstand wind speeds up to 70 MPH. Barnes & Noble’s website claims this is due to the umbrella’s fiberglass frame. While I’ve never been in weather that extreme, and I’m definitely not a certified umbrella technician, I can say this umbrella has had its fair share of windy days, and it’s still intact!

It is important to remember, however, you should close your umbrella if the wind gets too strong. I lost an umbrella I bought from the Maryland Zoo that way. If the wind’s strong enough, it can easily damage the frame, making your umbrella useless–and putting you out several dollars when you have to go buy another one!

Auto Open/Close Button

 

Now, you’ve probably noticed a small circle with two triangles on the umbrella’s handle in some of these pictures. While other umbrellas are designed so you have to open and close them with both hands, the totes umbrella I have makes it possible to do so with just one. Just press on the button, and the umbrella opens or closes.

It’s a godsend for clumsy folks like yours truly! I can’t count the number of times I’ve ended up spilling folders and books–or drinks–while trying to close an umbrella. Even mini umbrellas can be difficult to close. Hopefully this neat, little button will make an appearance in all umbrella designs in the future.

Limited Lifetime Warranty

Every totes umbrella has a warranty form included. I found mine tucked in the  space where the umbrella’s frame meets the fabric. Keep in mind, though, that this warranty will only cover any malfunction caused by the manufacturing. So, if the fabric’s torn after plenty of use, you’re on your own. Check out their warranty information for more details.

Umbrella Care

IMG_2868

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about umbrellas, it’s that they can fall apart fast if you don’t take care of them. As a result, I’m a little paranoid when it comes to umbrella care. After some time researching, and a lot of double-checking, this is the care plan I’ve come up with. Maybe it’ll help you too:

  • When drying your umbrella, leave it open so it can dry thoroughly and won’t grow mold or rust.
  • Only use water when cleaning the fabric–bleaches and other chemicals can damage the fabric, ruining its water resistance.
  • Avoid sun exposure as it can fade your umbrella’s fabric (which isn’t as serious as mold or rust, but still).

I know it’s obvious, but you should also remember your umbrella isn’t a walking stick. Putting too much body weight on any umbrella will cause it to break.

Final Verdict

If life has taught me anything, it’s that Barnes & Noble is a beautiful thing. Without that store, I wouldn’t have found my favorite umbrella. Before that day, I didn’t know it was possible to have a favorite umbrella. The Jonathan Adler patterned, “totes” umbrella has lasted longer than any other I’ve had, going on three years now. It provides plenty of coverage in the rain, and the open/close button lets you hold onto a hot drink no matter where you’re heading.

Wanna get a totes umbrella for you or someone you love? Check out their site here! If you’d love one of their umbrellas with the Jonathan Adler “It’s Raining Cats and Dogs” design, head on over to Barnes & Noble’s website. Trust me, you won’t regret it.