Drybar Buttercup: First Impressions Review

I’ve recently taken a greater interest in my curls, so I decided it was time to invest in a good hair dyer and diffuser. Ulta happened to be running a 20% off coupon, so, after much internet searching and questions answered at my local beauty shops, I decided to give the Buttercup hair dryer and The Bouncer diffuser by Drybar a try!

Overall First Impression: Positive

My overall first impression of the Buttercup is positive. The dryer works fast without leaving my hair feeling fried, and pairs easily with its accessories. There is also a very noticeable difference between the three heat settings which makes it very dynamic. The Buttercup is relatively lightweight and quiet for being so powerful. The Bouncer is simple, comfortable to use, and can hold a decent amount of hair.

Both pieces seem to be sturdy and made of high quality materials. The packaging is also a good mix of fun and function. I will need to spend some time with them before I can decide if they are worth the higher-end price tag.

The Unboxing

The Buttercup hair dryer and The Bouncer diffuser each come in packaging in line with the Drybar brand. Both packages are mostly shades of gray with Drybar’s iconic yellow used for accent. The standard Buttercup includes the hair dryer, two concentrator nozzles, warrantee and technical documentation, and a replacement mesh filter. The Bouncer includes the diffuser and a ‘how-to’ card.

click any photo for a closer look!

The Buttercup

The Buttercup includes three temperatures and two speeds that operate on switches, and a cool shot button. The switches lock securely at each setting while remaining easy to move with one finger, and the cool shot button is easy to use and doesn’t require having to keep a death grip on the dryer. It also has a 9ft, sturdy cord that allows for easy movement during use. The two concentrator nozzles easily snap on to and off of the front of the dryer and a washable mesh filter to keep dust, hair, and any other little nasties floating around your bathroom out.

The dryer boasts a 1875-watt motor and Ionic Technologies that deliver a quick dry without damaging hair or causing frizz. Read the full specs on the Drybar website.

The Bouncer

The Bouncer diffuser pairs perfectly with the Buttercup and is made of the same sturdy materials. The diffuser features dozens of holes and fingers that disburse the air for a softer dry. Air flow can be controlled by rotating the top surface and rubber nubs guarantee a secure fit to the dryer.

The Bouncer is large enough and cupped enough to hold a significant amount of hair while still being easy to manage and not adding much weight.

Conclusions

In the end, I am glad I decided to try the Buttercup and The Bouncer. I will need to use both several more times before I ultimately decide if I am keeping them, but they have made a good first impression! The Buttercup is light, easy to control, and does the job fast without making my curls into a frizzy mess. The Bouncer diffuser certainly helps with that, easily scooping up my hair and being comfortable enough to have against my scalp while not making my arm tired. I’d say it’s definitely worth at least a try, especially if you can find it at a slight discount!